7.27.2013

Cover Revealed: Burn by Julianna Baggott

BURN
Pure Trilogy, Book Three
by Julianna Baggott
Coming 02/04/14
ISBN-13: 978-1455502998
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 480
Find it on AmazonB&NGoodreads
--------------------
THE FINAL PART IN THE PURE TRILOGY FOR FANS OF THE PASSAGE, THE ROAD AND THE HUNGER GAMES.

An epic tale for fans of Justin Cronin, THE HUNGER GAMES and Cormac McCarthy. The final part in the PURE trilogy.

Inside the Dome, Patridge has taken his father's place as leader of the Pures. His struggle has led him here, intent upon bringing down the Dome from the inside, with the help of a secret resistance force. But things are not as simple from his new position of power and he finds himself tempted by his father's words: perhaps if the world is to survive it needs the Dome - and Partridge - to rule it...

As Partridge's resolve weakens, Pressia and Bradwell continue piecing together the clues left to them from the time before the Detonations. It is their hope that they will be able to heal the Wretches, and free them from their monstrous fusings and the Dome's oppression once and for all. But everything depends, too, on Partridge. Separated by distance and history, can they still trust their friend and ally? Or is the world doomed to an eternity of war and hardship?

5 comments:

Sarah said...

Okay, so this is a book series I love/hate. I was really excited about getting Pure when it came out. But once I read it.....it was one of the hardest books I had to finish. I guess it was just the gross details of the fusions of all of the people outside the Dome that I couldn't get over. Like El Capitan and his brother. I've already bought Fuse but am hesitant to read it because of how difficult of a time I had with Pure. Have you read it yet? Did you enjoy it?

perla said...

Sarah-
I LOVED Pure. El CApitan and Helmund were actually some of my favorite characters. I liked that El Cap easn't this black and white villain- he could be the greatst of allies if you were both on the same side. And I really loved Helmund, he expresses himself in this whisper, and it always had this other meaning to what El Cap was saying. ANd I LOVED that he was working all along to kill his brother- and therefore himself- and just end it all. But that he fought with EL Cap in the end. Sooo good. As for the fusions, I thought that they were this gruesome and really cool part of the story. Otherwise how else could the horror of it all be represented? To answer your question- after that long digression- I haven't read Pure yet. The wait until book 3 was going to be so long that I decided to wait until Burn was close to its publication date.
As a side note, I really was into Bradwell and Pressia, hope they get together!!

perla said...

-Sarah,

OMG, I know that "Wit beyond measure is man's greatest treasure.", but I am Gryffindor all the way.

Sarah said...

Oh yeah, I totally agree with you about El Cap not being just a black and white character. I do love the complexity of many of the people in this story. And there is no denying that this isn't a good story line. I like the Pressia and Bradwell ship as well!

And it's funny, for the longest time I was convinced that I was a Hufflepuff but after being sorted on Pottermore (twice! because I couldn't believe it) I got into Ravenclaw. Have you tried Pottermore yet?

perla said...

Hell yes girlfriend. I could not hold my head up high as a serious Potter lover otherwise. I always want to be Harry Potter for Halloween, but I always end up being the Bride of Frankenstein. Something is wrong with me.