11.25.2016

An 2nd Look at a Modern Day Classic: The Queen's Thief Series by Megan Whalen Turner

" Megan Whalen Turner’s four entrancing novels bring to life the world of the epics. The wonderfully unique hero, Eugenides the thief, is the heart of this series, in which battles are lost and won; political machinations and intrigue decide the fate of nations; and if one calls on the gods, they just might answer. Eugenides’s destiny is entwined with the destinies of three nations, and his personal journey anchors and echoes epic themes that resonate throughout the books. The series is ideal for encouraging critical thinking about deceptive appearances, familial relationships, responsibility, passion, and shifting power dynamics—in both politics and personal relationships."

-- MEGAN WHALEN TURNER’S
The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings Discussion Guide






The thief
THE QUEEN'S THIEF, BOOK #1


Gen is a thief who can steal anything—at least, that is the boast he’s made in wineshops across Sounis. Now his boasting has landed him in prison, so when the king’s magus invites Gen on a quest to steal a legendary religious object, he is hardly in a position to refuse. With little fanfare, Gen, the magus, the magus’s two apprentices, and a soldier embark on a journey that takes them out of Sounis, across the mountainous kingdom of Eddis, and into the potentially dangerous territory of Attolia. The three nations are currently in a tenuous peace, but if the quest succeeds, the balance of power will shift. Of course, there’s no guarantee that the legendary object even exists. And if it does exist, there’s no guarantee that Gen will be able to wrest it from the watchful gods who guard it. Gen, the incorrigible young thief, narrates an unforgettable adventure full of danger, obstacles, and the difficult truth that things are not always what they seem. About the Book Discussion Questions “To miss this thief ’s story would be a crime.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review) Newbery ★



the queen of attolia
THE QUEEN'S THIEF, BOOK #2


The talented thief Eugenides has visited the palace of Attolia one time too many. Normally, he leaves a small token for the queen, indicating his presence, and then safely vanishes, unseen by Attolian guards. One excursion, however, does not go as smoothly as planned. The queen is ready for him, and Eugenides finds himself imprisoned in her dungeon. Attolia punishes the thieving interloper as thieves have been punished for generations, guaranteeing that he won’t steal from her again. Once returned to his native land, Eugenides must overcome the physical trauma of torture and then, after the most immediate threat passes, confront the greater problems of despair, bitterness, and terror. Irrevocably altered by his experience in Attolia’s prison, Eugenides emerges from his self-imposed isolation to discover Eddis at war with Attolia and Sounis. He endeavors to end the war and stave off the threat posed by the Mede empire, and if he plays his cards right, he might be able to give Eddis what she desires—peace—and find his heart’s desire, as well. About the Book Discussion Questions “The intense read is thoroughly involving and wholly satisfying.” —The Horn Book (starred review) ★



The King of attolia
The queen's thief, book #3


As the new king of Attolia, Eugenides has all the accoutrements of a monarch: the throne, the title, the crown, the raiment. What he lacks is the respect normally due a monarch. The people of his new country either resent him for kidnapping their queen and forcing her into marriage, or else they see him as her puppet, completely useless in his own right. Eugenides does little to discourage this perception. He seems apathetic, weak, and crippled, prey to the practical jokes of his soldiers and blind to the poorly concealed insults of his attendants. But for those who will see it, there is a strong, tender bond between Eugenides and his wife, and the few who look beyond Eugenides’s appearance might note a will stronger than tempered steel and a mind twice as sharp. About the Book Discussion Questions “One of the most fascinating and original children’s fantasies to appear in years.” —The Horn Book (starred review) ★



a conspiracy of kings
THE QUEEN'S THIEF, BOOK #4


While Eugenides is winning the heart of the queen of Attolia and becoming her king, Sophos, the unwilling prince of Sounis, has disappeared. Everyone presumes that Sophos is dead, but that isn’t the case. Kidnapped and sold into slavery, the scholarly heir to the Sounis throne finds himself working among field hands by day and reciting poetry by night, all the while concealing his true identity. When Sophos orchestrates an escape, he reunites with the magus and journeys to Attolia, this time to negotiate an alliance to protect Sounis from the threats of Melenze and the Mede. A different type of hero than Eugenides, but no less heroic, Sophos surrenders his country in order to save it, and in doing so gains the esteem of his people, realizes his love for a queen, and proves himself a worthy king.
a
a
a
a



thick as thieves
THE QUEEN'S THIEF, BOOK #5

Coming May 16, 2017
ISBN-13: 978-0062568243
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Pages: 352
--------------------------------
Thick as Thieves is the eagerly anticipated new stand-alone novel set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. New York Times—bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

Kamet, a secretary and slave to his Mede master, has the ambition and the means to become one of the most powerful people in the Empire. But with a whispered warning the future he envisioned is wrenched away, and he is forced onto a very different path. Set in the world of the Queen’s Thief, this epic adventure sees an ordinary hero take on an extraordinary mission. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companion stories The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. Thick as Thieves includes two maps, a map of the world of the Queen’s Thief, and a map of Kamet’s journey.


THE early 2000's covers



No comments: